My Preemie Story … Evan’s NICU stay (part 1)

Standard

I decided to start this blog because I want to share my stories with the world. I have many different types of stories I’d like to share with you, the first being the birth story of my youngest child. He is my little miracle child and I am so thankful to have him. He was born at only 28 weeks gestation and weighed 1356 grams. He had a rough 73 day stay in Neonatal Intensive Care Unit at Shands but thanks to the many prayers, he has overcome many obstacles with flying colors. He had a Grade III intraventricular hemorrhage in his brain which we found out about when he was a week old. The doctors sat us down for a meeting and let us know what to expect in the coming days, years, etc. Needless to say, the news was not good. We were told he may not walk or talk and his chances were extremely high that he’d have brain damage or cerebral palsy and he would also have difficulty learning. During his stay he also had 4 blood transfusions, 2 spinal taps, hernia surgery, a hole in his heart, pneumonia and staph from the vent along with all the other preemie baby issues (apnea, brady’s, feeding intolerance, etc). He was sent home after 73 day in NICU with a heart monitor. (Any of you that have had one of these knows how loud they can be, It’s like having a house alarm go off right beside your bed!) After bringing him home, he still had trouble breathing and eating at the same time and at least 3 times a day, he’d turn blue during his feedings which was extremely scary for me but it quickly became a normal part of my day. Preemie babies have a hard time remembering to breathe while they suck whereas breathing comes naturally to us. I am attaching some pics of him at this time.

Leave a Reply

